Sculpture with projection screen in front of Instituto Raízes em Movimento 
Photos, Video of the metal sculpture workshop with Coletivo Noix Q Faz

With its extra wide and white chest the sculpture looks rather peaceful. In its right hand it carries a torch, and in its left the Olympic rings. But when you get closer you can see that the sculpture crushes small human figures with its gym shoes. Others are trying to get away from it.
The seeming innocent sports of the Olympic Games are the cause for displace­ment and violence. Especially the people in the favelas of Rio in Brazil were affected by it. They personally suffered the negative consequences of the Olympic Games without being part of the Olympics themselves.
The sculpture Torch Relay is standing in the middle of the favela Complexo do Alemäo in Rio and was realized together with artists of the graffiti collective Noix Q Faz who live there. The chest of the torchbearer is still used as a screen by the inhabitants of the favela when they show films in public.

with Noix Q Faz (Viviane, Soneca)

Img_0932

Img_0946

Img_0970

Img_0971

Img_1101

Img_1103

Img_1104

Img_1111

Skulptur mit Projektionsfläche vor dem Instituto Raízes em Movimento, Complexo do Alemão, Rio do Janeiro 
Fotos, Video vom Metallskulpturen-Workshop mit dem Coletivo Noix Q Faz

Mit ihrer überbreiten weißen Brust wirkt die Figur recht friedlich. In der rechten Hand trägt sie eine Fackel, in der linken die olympischen Ringe. Von Nahem ist zu sehen, dass der Fackelträger mit seinem Turnschuh kleine menschliche Figuren zerquetscht. Andere fliehen vor ihm.
Der vermeintlich unschuldige Sport einer Olympiade steht hier als Anlass für Verdrängung und Gewalt. Davon waren insbesondere die Menschen in den brasilianischen Favelas betroffen. Sie bekamen die negativen Folgen der Olympiade unmittelbar zu spüren, ohne selbst Teil der Olympiade gewesen zu sein.
Die Arbeit Fackellauf steht mitten in der Favela Complexo do Alemäo und wurde zusammen mit den dort lebenden Künstlern des Graffiti-Kollektivs Noix Q Faz realisiert. Die Brust des Fackelträgers wird von den Favelabewohnern weiter als öffentliche Kinoleinwand genutzt.

mit Noix Q Faz (Viviane, Soneca)

Img_0932

Img_0946

Img_0970

Img_0971

Img_1101

Img_1103

Img_1104

Img_1111