Bauwagen_22_kl

I started welding when I was living in my truck, in a trailer village in Hanover.

Bauwagen_01_kl

It all began when I needed a support for a swing in my truck. I got so excited with welding that I didn't want to stop, so next thing I welded a frame for the net where I kept my clothes, with figures attached to it.

My first figures were still very rough. But with time I got more into it. The figures became more refined, with more detail. When I was a child, I made a lot of papier-maché figures, and in a way, welding is a continuation of that, with another technique.

Saegefisch_15_kl

Sculptures became a creative means of expressing my ideas and imagination. Welding felt liberating, too, in comparison to the work as a precision mechanic that I did as a trainee from 1990 till 1994, where there are rules and prescriptions for everything. I always had to follow the drafts strictly, I couldn't figure out anything by myself except by which methods and steps I would reach the expected result. When I make a sculpture, I start out with just a vague idea of what it will be. The figures grow with time. I get inspired by the material, by its shapes and surfaces. It's a different approach altogether.

Fummelundblech_sw3_kl

By joining old material, I create something new. In precision mechanics, I removed material from a slug by means of milling and turning. But what fascinates me is to bring objects that have their own histories and former functions, into a new context. To tell a new story.

I find my material in junkyards, factories (metal sheets where they punched out things), and in the street. I love to spend an afternoon rummaging through a junkyard where there's lots of bizarre stuff to be discovered.

In a small workshop I have a gas shielded welder, an electric welder, a grinder, and of course a lot of material. I prefer gas shielded welding because it's better for thin sheets. The electric welder is lighter, it's good for working on site (e.g. at exhibitions).

My smallest sculpture is a bat, it fits in a hand. The biggest one is a sitting figure, it's about three meters high. I made it disassemblable because I'd need a crane to transport it in one piece.

Bauwagen_22_kl

In Hannover auf dem Bauwagenplatz bin ich aufs Schweißen gekommen.

Bauwagen_01_kl

Es fing damit an, dass ich mir für meinen Wohn-LKW ein Gestell für meine Schaukel geschweißt habe. Mich hat das so begeistert, dass ich mir gleich ein Wäschenetz, verziert mit Figuren, geschweißt habe.

Die ersten Figuren waren noch sehr grob. Mit der Zeit kam ich aber immer mehr in die Materie. Die Figuren wurden feiner und detailreicher. Als Kind habe ich häufig Figuren aus Pappmaché gebastelt – in gewisser Weise ist das Schweißen eine Fortsetzung mit anderen Mitteln, anderem Material.

Saegefisch_15_kl

Durch die Skulpturen habe ich einen kreativen Weg gefunden, meinen Gedanken und Ideen Ausdruck zu verleihen. Es ist auch eine Befreiung vom festgelegten Arbeiten als Feinmechaniker (was ich von 1990 bis 94 lernte). Alles musste genau nach Zeichnung erfolgen, nur Arbeitsschritte und Arbeitsweise musste ich mir überlegen. Bei der Arbeit an Skulpturen fange ich an und habe erst mal nur eine grobe Vorstellung, in welche Richtung es gehen soll. Die Figuren wachsen mit der Zeit. Dabei lasse ich mich vom Material und seinen Formen und Oberflächen inspirieren. Es ist eine ganz andere Arbeitsweise.

Fummelundblech_sw3_kl

Ich verbinde alte Materialien und schaffe etwas ganz Neues. Bei der Feinmechanik habe ich bei einem Rohling durch Drehen und Fräsen Material entfernt. Mich fasziniert es, Dinge, die eine eigene Geschichte und bestimmte Funktionen haben, in einen anderen Kontext zu bringen. Eine neue Geschichte zu kreieren.

Das Material besorge ich mir von Schrottplätzen, in Stanzfabriken und auf der Straße. Es macht mir viel Spaß, einen Nachmittag über den Schrottplatz zu stöbern und lauter skurrile Dinge zu finden.

In einer kleinen Werkstatt habe ich ein Schutzgasschweißgerät, ein E-Schweißgerät, einen Winkelschleifer und natürlich eine Menge Material. Das Schutzgasschweißgerät benutze ich lieber, da es sich für die dünnen Bleche eignet. Das E-Schweißgerät ist, da leicht, für den mobilen Einsatz gut geeignet.

Meine kleinste Skulptur ist eine Fledermaus und findet auf einer Hand Platz, meine größte ist ein Sitzender und etwa 3 Meter hoch. Diese Figur lässt sich auseinandernehmen, sonst könnte man sie nur mit einem Kran transportieren.